Skip to content

i dream of celebs. and tidal waves. and rusty nails.

January 25, 2011

Not sure why, but famous people have been cropping up almost every night in dreamland. On tonight’s bill of fare: Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt! Pete made me feel better (?) by telling me that he also had a dream about Angelina Jolie this week. I wonder if she realizes she has permeated people’s psyches.

To the dream.

We begin at my parent’s old house, where I lived from age 3 to 12. It was a duplex (condex, actually, and the houses were side-by-side and attached). We had a screened-in back porch, and that is where the story takes off. Because, you see, the porch was really a store, and that’s why Lyndsay was there. Then it turned back into my house, but it moved to the ocean.

She and I are chatting when a huge wave comes through and knocks us out of our chairs, soaking everything in the store (oh, right, it’s a store again). We choke and cough, and Lyndsay and I both agree that the wave was weird. Still, we stay where we are until we see the second wave approaching. We run into the living room. Lyndsay is naked, having lost all of her clothes in the first wave, so it turns out to be a good thing she’s at my house/store. My parents provide her with fresh clothing and a laptop.

DREAM SHIFT!

Lyndsay and I make our way to Kirsten’s house. We’re trying on bridesmaid dresses for Kirsten’s upcoming wedding (real life side note: Kirsten really is getting married, and we really do need to look for dresses, ahem ahem). Her mom, who is not her real mom, brings out a catalog of sexy bras and teddies, and Lyndsay and I are exceedingly frightened. Kirsten asks us to humor her, and tells us that she just brought it out to show us what she thought would be inappropriate to choose. We breathe a sigh of relief and agree that the bras are, indeed, inappropriate clothing choices for bridesmaids, especially since many only have pink mesh covering the nippley bits.

I am, though, deemed prudish for not wanting to try on a purple lace and ribbon teddy. A woman who works at Kirsten’s house/store thinks I need to loosen up and tries to seduce me in front of everyone. She attempts to physically accost me when Pete shows up with an idea and a mission: to break into the attic. Since I’d really like to get away from the accoster, and also the badly lit bedroom, I follow him up an old wooden ladder to an empty room. There is a door up there, and two other people with us, but their identities are a mystery. We walk toward the door, and Pete explains that’s where “He” is. Pete knocks and “He” is playing guitar, but when “He” notices he chases us with a shotgun through the attic. I’m the first one to go back down the ladder, but I move slowly, and a few small rusty nails enter my palm. I keep telling myself that when I wake up I’ll need a tetanus shot.

When I finally get down, I run into the woods and find a hollowed out log to wait in. Here’s what I’m waiting for: Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt to catch up with me. They were in another dream that seemed to dovetail or be almost simultaneous, wherein they had chosen my pool to make a movie in, and then it turned out they didn’t want to make a movie at all, but have one normal day with a few normal people. She wore the most beautiful bathing suit I have ever seen; it had flutter sleeves and a very pretty blue and white pattern. They were trying to escape a director who kept telling them what to do, and I invited them to run away with me in my hollowed-out log. They tentatively agreed, but as I sat in my mossy log, which was covered with bugs and forest decay, I realized they’d never come, and I had to light out on my own.

I pushed a tree near the log to get my little boat-of-sorts moving, but it only floated a few feet downstream before getting stuck.

I thought about my hand and argued aloud with myself about that tetanus shot. Then I woke up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 11:48 pm

    I love that I’m in all of your dreams. It makes me so happy. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, how weird is it that I was naked in your dream and I keep having dreams about uncomfortable accidental nakedness!

    Ps when I read the rusty nails part I actually cringed!

    • Coco permalink*
      January 28, 2011 2:18 pm

      I also love that you show up in so many of my dreams! And, maybe we had a mind meld or something that allowed me to see your dreams and process them in my own. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

