Skip to content

m.m.g.b.

February 21, 2011

Today marks the fifth installation of Monday Morning Guest Blogger, which can mean only one thing: it’s been at least five weeks that this blog has been in operation! What an exciting thought. I try to update as often as I can, and though you might not get a dream a day, I’d say I put out at least three a week, which is saying something. You’re helping me feel a kind of purpose, and I appreciate that. So, thanks everybody! Hungrily waiting for site hits has become something of a pastime for me, and I thank all you regular readers for giving me some hope to cling to.

Today’s m.m.g.b. is none other than Bryan, a friend, writer, and blogger extraordinaire. You’ll see his blog site to the right (“wake, sleeper”) under the blog roll. Bryan has also become involved with the interfaith movement, and is a semi-regular contributor at State of Formation. He’s also written music reviews for The Silent Ballet. Without further ado, Bryan’s dream:

 

1st half: i was at a mormon church (it’s a real church in Eliot, ME that i’ve visited before. it’s MFA Mandy Park’s church). i asked if i could make an announcement before their service began (oh, and before the service, everyone was praying over each other–literally, they were all bent over with arms on each other. there was a lot of argyle). then, my announcement was an impassioned plea for them to consider joining the interfaith movement. i pitched State of Formation and even dropped Jason Kerr’s name (the only mormon writing for SoF). in the end, i was saying that it made me uncomfortable to be asking them, but that if i was truly to be interfaith, then i needed them.

2nd half:  this is where it gets weird. i was working as a reporter for some newspaper/magazine, and we were doing a story on semiotics (this is clearly the most unrealistic part, as what do daily rags care about language?). i came up with a linguistic quandary. i don’t know much about semiotics, but i know that it is kind of the study of symbols in language, or even language as symbols. you know, the whole “signifier and signified” thing? ok, well, my quandary was: once we’ve realized the thing to signify, how do we, through language, decide on a signifier that is suitable? that is, it seemed to me (in the dream) that the minute we chose a word to represent the signified thing, the signified thing lost 95% of its meaning, since we curbed it into an object. so: how do humans go about choosing their symbols, and why don’t we choose new ones more often?

i woke up thinking about this a lot, and weirdly, it’s a question i’m truly intrigued with now–meaning my dream-self is teaching my waking-self. WTF?!

as i thought about it, i thought of wedding rings being an example of what my dream asked me. they are a signifier of the significance of an otherwise abstract “lifelong relationship.” you know, circles, unending, unbroken, etc.–all that stuff. but whose to say there aren’t any new symbols that could be added in or even replace the old? say, a mirror, for instance. it is a reflection of ourselves, but it is not actually us–and that reflection looks back on us. still seems like a circular-unending thing.

should i start a company making mirror wedding rings?

WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN?

oh–and the other part of my dream was my interfaith friend Chris Stedman using all of my orange juice for a science experiment. i was unbelievably mad at him.

 

Post your thoughts for Bryan below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 4:21 pm

    thx for posting this snick-snack of weirdness. i’m honored to be part of the growing zeitgeist of UiG (still one of the best blog names ever).

    the rest of the story is that Courtney followed up my dream-log with notes on some substantial semiotic research. i’m still digesting it. how weird would it be if my dream introduced me to a new avenue of study? the lines are blurring!

    • February 21, 2011 9:50 pm

      The lines are, indeed, blurring. I seem to recall a conversation we had some years ago (that’s weird, that I’ve known you for some years) that MA’s write about the work MFA’s eventually produce. It has stuck with me, not because I was particularly irked by it, but because I found it to be chilling and true. So, I’m glad that the work of literary criticism and theory is not all a bunch of hooey left to the second-rate English majors who were too scared to put it all out there. Nothing is ever so black-and-white, anyway, but it’s nice to know that shades of gray have not only been discovered, but are currently being celebrated the world over, from writing to religion. Yay!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention m.m.g.b. « Upstairs is gone. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

