Skip to content

“now” is relative.

February 25, 2011

One of the things I find interesting about apartment living is that when it’s quiet in your home, you can usually hear what’s going on in other people’s lives at that very instant. I’m fascinated by people’s lives, especially when they diverge from the same place–in this case, my building.

On the first floor, there’s a two-year old girl that runs up and down the hallway in her house while she laughs and screams. She does this a lot. On the second floor, there’s a young couple, maybe a year or two older than ourselves, who do lots of outdoorsy things, then come home and take a long, noisy hour to brush off their boots and clean their camping gear. And then there’s us, on the third floor. We have squeaky floorboards, so there are parts of the living room floor we just avoid walking on altogether. Also, I sing (read: belt) in the shower.

I don’t know where I’m going with this. The idea isn’t fully-fleshed. But I can never stop thinking about how we’re all humans, going about with our human things, each person with their own bubble of friends and news and information and feelings and opinions and thoughts. What I’m doing right now might be different than what anyone else in the world is doing right now. And if someone is typing the words, “and if someone is typing the words,” while they sit on their couch, covered in a blanket, with feet up on the coffee table, still debating whether they should just get up and go to the gym…I want to know who it is. Can we all be doing something totally different at every moment of every day constantly?

What am I even saying? I know I’m not the only one to think about this stuff, but am I the only one thinking of it RIGHT NOW?

(In an attempt to do some kind of research about the topic, I looked some stuff up. Here’s what I found:

http://wewhoareabouttodie.com

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100920154848AAQ4ja0

and finally, an actual theory, thanks to our friends Hendrik Lorentz and Albert Einstein: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relativity_of_simultaneity, which is closely related to this: http://www.scivee.tv/node/3025. )

I suppose I can’t talk about “right now” if “right now” is relative of how I perceive it. As Mr. Maniotis once said, “Let’s get philosophical.” And while the above seems mostly scientific, I’m sure there’s some philosophy related to it. Like, I’m sure Nietzche would get in on that, if he could. Maybe Emerson.

Anyway, my dream last night was lame. In it, I attached two L-shaped poles to my rear bumper (with the bottom of the L hooking the bumper, and the tall part sticking out in the back) and called it a bike rack. I could also use it as a lever, pulling on the L’s to raise the front part of my car off the ground. I am 100% sure that this is a terrible design for actual bike racks, judging from the cracking noises my imaginary car made in my dream.

There was another part, involving a Funworld-style ball pit and having to change my shirt, but I can’t quite remember the details, except that I was wearing a bra I don’t like, and that my chest was larger than in real life (and there’s just no need for that).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 4:29 pm

    I too have wondered this very same thing. Even creepily wondered if someone else has the same breathing rhythm as me. Strange, I know. I remember in college Professor Rupright told us ‘you’ll never have an original idea, because, someone else has already thought of it’…disheartening to an aspirational college student, but very true…

  2. February 25, 2011 5:39 pm

    Brain twin- stop it!! I was driving home last night thinking the EXACT SAME THING. I always love being able to see into other people’s houses while driving/walking by (I know, I’m a creep.) Last night it was making my brain want to explode trying to think about what billions of other people were doing at the exact same moment and how many of them might actually be doing the same thing (watching TV, eating dinner, etc.) Crazy!

  3. February 25, 2011 6:38 pm

    WOAH WAIT A MINUTE. I THOUGHT I WAS YOUR BRAIN FRIEND?!

    • Coco permalink*
      February 25, 2011 8:11 pm

      AHAHAHAHAHA. Well, listen brain friend: when are you free? I want to see you!!!

Leave a Reply

