Skip to content

wedding planner

March 31, 2011

Last night, I was a wedding planner. I was at a party store with a woman and her mother, and we were in an aisle with cake toppers and paper tablecloths. I kept turning to ask the younger woman questions, because there were so many cake toppers, I wasn’t sure which would be her style. There was one with an ocean theme, one that was rather tall and statuesque, one that had a white plastic birdcage on it, and others in the back that looked something like pinatas. Each time I asked her what she was going for, the woman became very distressed. Her mother approached me and asked me to just quit hounding her, already, but how could I? I was a wedding planner! This was my job. I put a bland-looking medium-sized topper into the cart when they were both turned around, and moved on to other issues.

“How about these blue tablecloths?” I asked the younger woman, who was by now quite distraught.

“THEY HAVE PLASTIC ON ONE SIDE!” she exclaimed, disgustedly.

The mother came over to me and angrily explained that because there was plastic on one side, they wouldn’t fall right on the tables, and what was I thinking anyway, and would I please just stop trying to help because obviously I don’t know what I’m talking about.

“It’s for if you spill a drink, I’m pretty sure,” I sighed, “And, I really don’t think anything in this store could improve your wedding anyway.”

I knew from the looks on their faces that I was fired, but I didn’t care because by saying what I said, I’d essentially quit the job, anyway. I felt free as I left the store, left the two angry women and their hideously cheap decorations, and walked outside.

DREAM SHIFT

I can’t remember as much about this one, except to say that I was at a friend’s aunt’s house, and I think it was Kaitlin (my coworker). We kept trying to reposition things in the house, but when they told me to get things, I would bring the wrong item. For instance, the aunt called for the standing shelf, but I wasn’t sure what she meant so I just grabbed any shelf I saw from the living room. When I brought it over to her, she explained that it was the wrong shelf, and to go back and get the correct one. This happened a few times until finally somebody came and picked me up to go home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 11:49 pm

    Ohhh my friend you have some serious struggles, methinks (and meknows.) Vent, vent, vent! And look, look, look! You dreams are BEGGING you!

    • March 31, 2011 11:56 pm

      Oh, you’ll hear some venting tonight. I’ve never looked so forward to our weekly bar-going evenings.

Leave a Reply

