Skip to content

baby G!

November 29, 2012

Last night I had a wonderful, peaceful dream about the birth of my friend E’s baby. She’s due at the end of December, which I guess means that the baby can come anytime in the next 6 weeks. 

In the dream, we are visiting her in her “hospital” room (it looked a lot more like an old bedroom in a victorian house–dark hardwood floors with wide planks, a huge queen-sized bed, lots of drapes and draped things everywhere). The light was soft, filtered through some gauzy curtains. We walked in and there were she and B, lounging on the bed with baby. They were so happy! She asked me if I wanted to hold the baby, and of COURSE I said yes. I picked up that little cherub and she was perfect: a happy little ball of flesh and organs weighing in at  8 lbs, 8 oz., with wispy dark hair. 

E was walking around while I held the baby, gathering up all her stuff. I saw some laundry and the floor and thought she had been wearing my underwear during her hospital stay. Then I realized it was HER underwear, and it was embarrassing to realize I was wearing the same kind of underwear as a pregnant lady. HAHA. In real life, I’m sure I do wear pregnant lady underwear. Whatever. It’s comfy.

I asked E about the birth experience and this is what she said: “I do not understand what the big deal is. We waited around for a while, came to the hospital, and as soon as we got here it was just like…bwoop! And she was here. It was fine. They need to stop scaring pregnant people. It took like three minutes.” While explaining this to me, she was also doing hand motions in front of her body, with her arms imitating the size of a pregnant belly, and then the hands pushing down fast during the “bwoop” noise. 

That’s all. Just thought I’d share. There was more to the dream when I came downstairs and people were at a restaurant eating these weird chocolate-covered sponge cakes that I didn’t like at all. I was at some guy’s birthday party and he was being annoying about everyone eating the cake. But also my mother was there, and we talked about E’s baby, and I told her how much it weighed and said, “That’s not too bad, right?” My mom replied, “That’s a big baby. Your brother was 8 lbs., 12 oz., and that was like Hell.” For the record, this is my dream mom talking, so I don’t know how much my brother really was, but I don’t think I’m that far off.

Anyway, I think the moral of this story is that B + E are going to have a wonderful birth experience and labor will be short and sweet. Then we can all get to meet this baby, already!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

